Rebecka Larsdotter: Whirlwind

Vocalist Rebecka Larsdotter teams up with a collection of rhythm sections as well as saxist Dayna Stephens on this collection of originals and two covers. Horace Silver’s “Peace” is delivered with a laconic approach with Stephens’ tenor, the team of Ben Stret/b, Nate Wood/dr and Aaron Parks/p as Larsdotter is subdued and thoughtful. The team of Ari Hoenig/dr, Rick Rosato/b and Shai Maestro/p get a bit more bouncy as the vocalist sounds more ebullient on “My Shining Hour.” Things get rocky and funky with Dennis Hamm on the keyboards and Oz Noy’s guitar on ”Morning After  Pill.” Throughout the album, her vocal ranges stays within a certain limit, as she prefers to emphasize timing over dynamics. Jazz on the indie side.

Leave a Reply