Mae.sun: Vol 1: Inter-de

Comprised of Hailey Niswanger/sax-voc, Nikara Warren/vib, Axel Laugart/key, Andrew Renfroe/g, Aaron Liao/b and David Frazier Jr/dr, the band Mae.sun delivers creative post bop originals on this collection of tunes penned by Ms. Niswanger. She uses her voice as well, delivering a wispy message on the dreamy and soulful “Be Love, Be Peace” with Lugart’s keyboards, but focuses on the sax, with her soprano galloping over the pastoral “River of  Perception” and crying to Renfroe’s guitar on the dramatic “Breate.” Warren provides good vibes as he teams with Frazier’s snappy drums on the funkfied “Sun of Awareness” and also creates a fusion groove with Liao’s spacious bass on “Life is Limitless.” Niswanger gets meditative on “Universal Harmony” and assertive on “Continuous Recognition” showing a wide range of moods and emotions. Impressive and original.


Leave a Reply