Zach Larmer Electric Band: Inner Circle

Electric guitarist Zach Larmer gets the fusion juices flowing on this exciting album of (mostly) originals. The rocking team includes trumpeters Brian Lynch and  John Daversa (who also blows through the EVI), saxist Aldo Salvent, bassists Juan Pablo Diaz and Jermain Walden, drummers Rodolfo Zuniga and David Chiverton and keyboardist Tal Cohen keeping things together. Larmer himself is a hard hitter on the axe, mixing it up exuberantly with Daversa during “On The Dock” while bending and snapping the strings during the kinetic “Gardenof Eden.” The team gets a bit bluesy with Lynch on “Friedrichshain” and stretches out a fairly mellow “Softly As In A Morning Sunrise” that has more movements than Ex Lax. The rhythm team really digs in with Larmer on “I Left It Bayou” while driving the reins for Daversa and Salvent on the pungent “Inner Circle.” Partly reminiscent of the old Return To Forever Days, but with the extra trumpet sounding all its own. A must for fusion fans.

Leave a Reply