Mitch Haupers: Invisible Cities

Guitarist Mitch Haupers delivers a tasty mix of chamber music and jazz here on this collection of originals. The foundational team of Haupers with Bob Mintzer/woodwinds, Alan Pasqua/p, Darek Oles/b and  Peter Erskine/dr delivers some gently flowing and pastoral pieces such as “Veronica’s Lake” and the cascading “Waltz for Bill.” Mournful moods prevail on “Isla Mujeres” and the fragrant “Downtime” which spotlights the warm sounds from Oles, Pasqua and Mintzer. Strings and woodwinds are supplemented on a romantically orchestrated “Love Songs Suite” the features Haupers on a plaintiff piano as well as electric guitar. Some gracious strings, harp and voice permeate the almost classical “(In Came) Love, So Silent” while the gentle bras and reeds groove on “Beacon Street.” Thoughtful music in the best sense.

Liquid Harmony Music

Leave a Reply