Greg Amirault: East of the Sun

Here’s a Canadian guitarist that’s got a nice clean style. Greg Amirault leads a trio with Fraser Hollins/b and Dave Laing/dr for a soothing and sleek collection of standards and originals. The spaciousness laid out by his teammates gives him room for melodic explorations of tuens such as “Time After Time” and “Everything I Love.” He also does some solo work as on “My One and Only Love’ and “In A Sentimental Mood” which highlights his lyricism. Deft and tasty, his own tracks “Lighthouse Route” and “Fang Song” have an attractive drive to them. A joy for axe fans!

Cupfa Records

Leave a Reply